Faculty and Staff Honored During Recognition Luncheon

Published on 27 June 2019

On May 14, St. Louis College of Pharmacy faculty, staff and leadership celebrated the end of another successful academic year at the Annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon.

During the event, John A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, president of the College, recognized 31 employees for their many years of dedicated service to the College.

The luncheon also featured the presentation of the Staff and Faculty Excellence Awards, which are given to faculty and staff members annually in recognition of their outstanding job performance, impact on the campus community and commitment to demonstrating the College’s mission, vision and values.

David Poole, director of finance, was this year’s Staff Excellence Award recipient. He was honored for his interim leadership role with the Business Office during its search for a chief financial officer and vice president of finance.

“Winning this award meant a lot to me,” stated Poole. “I always strive to be the best employee I can be, and the second half of this year was a new challenge for me. It is easy to excel when you are part of a great team, and I am fortunate to work with great people both in my office and across the entire campus. It was nice to be recognized for the hard work that I have put in.”

Jeramia Ory, associate professor of biochemistry and undergraduate health professions advisor, received this year’s Faculty Excellence Award for his thoughtful concern for students, excellent advising skills and ability to serve as a great representative to prospective students.

“I am truly grateful to those who nominated and voted for me,” explained Ory. “Higher education is such a unique field to work in because there is always so much to be done in support of our students’ education and personal growth. It can seem like our work as professors is never over and never enough, but receiving this award made it feel like I did my part during the year.”

As the luncheon came to a close, President Pieper also recognized retiring faculty members Thomas Zlatic, Ph.D., professor of English emeritus, and John Rapko, Ph.D., instructor of chemistry. With Zlatic having served the College for 32 years, and Rapko serving the College for 16 years, each was honored for their dedication to student success.

“We have amazing faculty and staff whose commitment and hard work help shape our bright future,” stated President Pieper. “It was an honor to celebrate them and their many accomplishments.”

Explore more stories in the categories of: Faculty , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.