Board of Trustees Names New Chair and Welcomes New Members

Published on 08 July 2020

On June 17, the St. Louis College of Pharmacy Board of Trustees held its final meeting of the 2019-20 academic year. During the meeting, retiring members were thanked for their dedicated service and five new members were welcomed to the Board. Members of the Board, which acts as the governing body of the College, serve three-year terms with the option for renewal.

With the end of the academic year, Cathy Goetz, B.S. ’85, and Curtis Searcy each completed their terms on the Board. Goetz joined the Board in 2011 and served on the executive committee from 2013 to 2020. Her tenure also included service and leadership on the development, buildings and grounds, and governance committees. During his three-year Board term, Searcy served on the investment, academic and student affairs, and finance committees.

Board Leadership

During the June meeting, JoAnne Levy, vice president at Mercy Research, was named the new chair of the Board. Levy has served on the board since 2016, and in that time, has used her leadership and insight to help guide change and innovation at the College as an at-large member of the executive committee, chair of the audit committee and member of the governance committee.

At Mercy Research, one of the nation’s largest fully integrated community health system-based research organizations, Levy leads a team of dedicated research personnel using standardized policies, practices and procedures to support clinical research activity across the Mercy health system. Her career also includes 16 years at Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals, serving in a variety of global leadership roles in legal, sales and marketing support, international business development and supply chain management.

The Board also approved the following members as officers and executive committee members for 2020-21.

Officers of the Board

  • JoAnne Levy, Vice President at Mercy Research, Chair
  • Paul Beahm, Retired, Senior Vice President of Health and Wellness Operations at Walmart Stores Inc., Senior Vice-Chair
  • Neal Sample, Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer at Northwestern Mutual, Vice-Chair
  • Al Li, Senior Vice President of Global Trade Finance at Regions Bank, Treasurer
  • Kendra Holmes, B.S. '99, Pharm.D. '00, Chief Operating Officer at Affinia Healthcare Inc., Secretary

Executive Committee At-Large Members

  • Richard Anderson, Investment Consultant
  • Elaine Haynes, B.S. ’86, President and CEO at KaloCyte Inc.
  • Sandra Van Trease, Retired, Group President at BJC Healthcare

New Members of the Board

This year’s new board members possess a wealth of expertise in various facets of pharmacy and health care and will bring unique perspectives to the College leadership.

Sandra Bollinger, President and Owner of Health Priorities Inc., is a certified diabetes educator and board-certified in geriatric pharmacy. Her work at Health Priorities Inc., a non-dispensing pharmacy, focuses on the prevention and management of chronic diseases. Bollinger has served as past president of the Missouri Pharmacy Association and president of the Cape Girardeau County Pharmacy Association.

Laura Butkievich, Pharm.D. ’06, BCPS, System Pharmacy Clinical Manager at University of Missouri Health Care, obtained her Master of Health Administration and Master of Science in Health Informatics from the University of Missouri. Following her residencies, Butkievich returned to University of Missouri Health Care as a clinical pharmacy specialist in internal medicine before transitioning to her current role. Butkievich is currently serving as an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists delegate for Missouri and has served as president of the Mid-Missouri Society of Health-System Pharmacists and president of the Missouri Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Joel Hennenfent, B.S. ’96, Pharm.D. ’97, BCPS, FASHP, Chief Pharmacy Officer and Associate Administrator for Laboratory and Imaging Services at Truman Medical Center, completed a pharmacy practice residency at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and received a Master of Business Administration from Saint Louis University. Hennenfent currently serves as an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists delegate for Missouri and has served as past president of the Missouri Society of Health-System Pharmacists and past president of St. Louis Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Daniel Kistner, Pharm.D. ’11, Group Senior Vice President for Pharmacy Solutions at Vizient, has a diverse background in the pharmaceutical industry, which includes expertise in benefits management and retail, hospital, specialty, and mail order pharmacy. In his role, Kistner helps assist member hospitals in transforming their pharmacy program into a central point of integrated care with solutions that help manage costs, reduce drug shortages and improve quality outcomes for patients.

Brian Seiz, Pharm.D. ’98, President of Pharmacy at Cigna, has served in a variety of leadership roles within clinical and specialty pharmacy at Express Scripts, Specialty Benefit Services, CuraScript Specialty Pharmacy and Accredo Specialty Pharmacy. Before joining Express Scripts in 2004, Seiz served as an assistant professor of pharmacy practice at the College for over five years.

The Board of Trustees meets quarterly to discuss affairs at the College. Learn more about the Board and leadership at the College.

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Community Engagement , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.