Members of the College Community Named Next-Generation Pharmacist Award Finalists

Published on 22 August 2019

Several members of the St. Louis College of Pharmacy community have been recognized by Pharmacy Times as 2019 Next-Generation Pharmacist® awards finalists. Each year, the awards program, which is sponsored by Pharmacy Times in conjunction with Parata Systems, recognizes 30 exceptional pharmacy professionals nationwide in 10 categories.

Among those from the College making this year’s finalist list was Bruce Canaday, Pharm.D., FASHP, FAPhA, dean of the School of Pharmacy, who was recognized in the Lifetime Leadership category.

Other award finalists included three alumni from the College:

  • Kevin Colgan, B.S. ’77, FASHP, vice president and chief pharmacy officer at University of Chicago Medical Center and former chairman of the College’s Board of Trustees, who was recognized in the Health-System Pharmacist category
  • Curt Gielow, B.S. ’68, MHA, Hon. D.H.L., business consultant at Gielow Ventures, LLC, who was recognized in the Civic Leader category
  • Lisa Umfleet, B.S. ’96, BCGP, owner of Parkland Health Mart Pharmacy, who was recognized in the Technology Innovator category
The 2019 Next-Generation Pharmacist® awards finalists were selected by a distinguished panel of judges and represent a cross section of pharmacy practice settings, including large chain retailers, independent pharmacies, specialty pharmacies, military bases, health clinics and educational institutions.

Finalists will be formally recognized during a gala event on Oct. 25 at the Hotel del Coronado in San Diego. During the event, the winners in each category will be announced, and one winner will be named the 2019 Next-Generation Pharmacist®. All finalists will also be featured in the September print and online issues of Pharmacy Times.

Additional information and the full list of finalists is available at

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Faculty , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.