Annual Recognition Luncheon Honors Faculty and Staff

Published on 06 June 2013

Expressions of joy and jubilation could be heard at this year’s Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon, held on May 8 in the Cartwright Student Center.

The centerpiece of the annual event was the presentation of the Byron A. Barnes Excellence in Education Awards. The awards, including the President’s Staff Excellence Award, the College Enhancement Award, and the Student Enrichment Award, were created in 1998 to recognize outstanding service to the College community. Funding for the Byron A. Barnes Award Program is provided by the BCES Foundation, which was established by the late L.G. Cunningham ’50.

President John A. Pieper introduced each award by recognizing past winners and listing this year’s nominations before renaming the winner.

Kristine Bryant, administrative assistant in the Office of Marketing and Communications, received the President’s Staff Excellence Award, which is presented to a staff member whose work consistently exceeds expectations and who has provided exceptional service to the College. Bryant walked to the podium to thunderous applause and gave a short acceptance speech in which she said her co-workers were the best “work family” she’s ever had.

Jarrod Kincaid, director of prospective student services, received the College Enhancement Award for improving the College atmosphere to benefit the students’ college experience. He received a similar ovation before speaking to the audience. Kincaid said he was riding quite a high, as his second child was born earlier in the week.

Tricia Berry ‘94/’95, Pharm.D., professor of pharmacy practice, director of experiential programs, and assistant dean, was honored with the Student Enrichment Award, which is presented to a faculty member whose interaction with students outside the classroom goes above and beyond the call of duty. Similar to the two recipients before her, Berry was visibly moved by the honor.

Berry was also selected as the 2013 Joe E. Haberle Outstanding Educator Award recipient. Each year, the Alumni Association recognizes a faculty member for his or her commitment to educational excellence. The selection committee looks for educators who are enthusiastic about their work, show a positive attitude toward student learning, and are innovative in teaching.

Each of the Byron A. Barnes Awards consists of a special plaque, recognition on another plaque displayed in the lobby of Jones Hall, a $1,000 cash award, and a reserved parking space for one year.

Employees with five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35 years of service were also recognized at the luncheon.

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Faculty , Students

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.