Alumni, Faculty and Students Shine at IPhA Annual Conference

Published on 03 October 2016

The 2016 Illinois Pharmacists Association (IPhA) Annual Conference was held Sept. 29 through Oct. 2 in Normal, Illinois. St. Louis College of Pharmacy alumni, faculty and students were repeatedly recognized for their success and contributions, winning the vast majority of the awards presented at the conference.

Ben Calcaterra ’02, was installed as president of IPhA. In a moving moment, his father Fred Calcaterra ’71, administered the oath of office. Jessica Kerr ’00/’01, was installed as president-elect by past-president Eric Bandy ’98. The Bowl of Hygeia, the highest award given by IPhA for outstanding community service, was awarded to Joyce Fogleman ’82. Fogelman also served as a member of the College’s Board of Trustees from 1993 to 2002 and again from 2003 until 2012.

Chris Herndon ’97/’98, Pharm.D., BCPS, CPE, FASHP, was named Pharmacist of the Year. The IPhA Foundation Lifetime Achievement Service Award was presented to Gary Ceretto ’76 and the Distinguished Young Pharmacist/Edmond Barcus Award was presented to Kristen Komaiko ’07.

Goldie Peters, Pharm.D., BCPS, associate professor of pharmacy practice and faculty advisor for the College’s student chapter of IPhA, presented with alumna Heather Powell ’15 on the topic of illicit drugs and reversal agents. Julie McGinley ’15 led a session on improving patient safety through pharmacist and pharmacy technician driven medication reconciliations. P4 student Katie Toeniskoetter represented the College in the patient counseling competition and P3 student Merin Thomas was installed as the IPhA student representative from the College.

Next year, IPhA will hold a joint annual conference with the Missouri Pharmacy Association in St. Louis beginning on Sept. 7, 2017.

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Faculty , Students , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.