Professional Class of 2025 Participates in White Coat Ceremony

Published on 09 September 2021

University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis welcomed 90 student pharmacists into the Doctor of Pharmacy program during the annual St. Louis College of Pharmacy White Coat Ceremony on Friday, Aug. 27.

Giovanni Pauletti, M.Pharm., Ph.D., interim dean of St. Louis College of Pharmacy, opened the ceremony by recognizing the professional class of 2025’s formal entrance into the Doctor of Pharmacy program.

Keynote speaker, Kendra Holmes, B.S. ’99, Pharm.D. ’00, CHCEM, senior vice president and chief operating officer for Affinia Healthcare and secretary of the UHSP Board of Trustees, offered congratulatory remarks to the class and highlighted the important role that pharmacists have taken on throughout the pandemic.

“As frontline health care workers we have continued to provide direct patient care while utilizing our knowledge and skills to respond to the pandemic,” Holmes said. “We have performed countless numbers of tests and administered over 108 million doses of COVID-19 vaccines nationwide. 44% of the doses administered have gone to a person from a racial or ethnic minority. We are doing our part to eliminate health disparities, and I have never been more proud to be a pharmacist.”

The ceremony continued as Gavin McRaven, professional class of 2025 president, led the class in reciting the Pledge of Professionalism.

Each student pharmacist was then invited to the stage while Besu Teshome, Pharm.D., associate professor of pharmacy practice and 2021 Joe E. Haberle Outstanding Educator Awardee; Kalyan Venkata, Ph.D., assistant professor of medicinal chemistry and 2021 Faculty Excellence Awardee; Alicia Forinash, B.S. ’00, Pharm.D. ’01, professor of pharmacy practice and 2021 Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience Faculty Preceptor of the Year Awardee; and Shane Austin, Pharm.D. ’14, adjunct assistant professor of pharmacy practice and clinical pharmacy specialist for Missouri Baptist Medical Center and Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience Adjunct Preceptor of the Year Awardee, ceremoniously helped students put on their white coats.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, student pharmacists discovered special notes of advice and encouragement in their white coat pockets. The notes were left by alumni, faculty, and friends of the University who chose to sponsor the cost of the coat.

Congratulations to the following student pharmacists!

Amany Abdallah Maha Abdulrazzak
Angeline Aby Angel Aguirre
Eric Aihie Elizabeth Allanach
Blake Allison Fadeh Almsoudi
Dalia Alshawi Feda Azab
James Bamberger Nikhat Banu
Skyler Barker Alisa Begovic
Mylene Bernante Grace Beyer
Alyssa Bowers Caitlin Brewster
Madelyn Brouwer August Camarato
Mick Cavender Sydney Cheek
Courtney Croghan Erin Davis
Ashley Desmond Darius Dorsey
Daisy Eaton Elyse Engebretson
Elijah Fisher Abbie Foote
Michon Forrest Ajla Gogic
Armen Grigorian Taylor Hale
Tyler Hedrick Lindsey Holhubner
Jasmine Hunt Alec Johnson
Holly Johnston  Jessica Kennedy
Nealee Kesler  Sean Kim
 Jake Krekel  Dylan Lipski
 William Lynch  Ashley McKechan
 Alyssa McPike  Philip McRaven
 Owen Mentzer  Levi Mills
 Megan Moore  Madison Moylan
 Spencer Mroz  Jennifer Nahm
 Bajrama Nanic  Damien Nguyen
 Jason Nguyen  Faith Oliver
Itzanami Osorio  Mackenzie Phillips
 Shawn Plankey  Emily Puleo
 Melis Ramic  Ricquel Richardson
 Isabella Roberts  Emily Row
 Cindy Ruzi  Sierra Sagucio
 Caitlin Sanford  Makenzie Schierding
 Jade Scott  Chase Selby
 Tima Selimovic  Mikayla Sherrill
 Simran Singh  Torin Smith
 Brooke Sommer  Tanae Taylor
 Clarice Tennessen  Blake Travis
 Chelsea Turner  Ezechiel Tuyambaze
 Daniella Underwood  Elena Vasquez
 Amber Waters  Ashley Weir
 Bre’Anna Wilson  Harry Woodard
Reginald Wright  Hyun Jae Yoo

Watch the 2021 White Coat Ceremony


Explore more stories in the categories of: Academics , Events And Awards , Pharmacy , Students

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.