New Members Inducted into Rho Chi Honor Society

Published on 21 April 2020

On April 5, 40 students from the classes of 2021 and 2022 were inducted into the St. Louis College of Pharmacy Beta Kappa Chapter of the Rho Chi Honor Society during a virtual initiation ceremony.

Following event cancellations in response to the COVID-19 outbreak, P3 student Seena Cherian, president of the Beta Kappa Chapter, along with chapter officers and faculty advisors made the decision to move the induction ceremony to a virtual environment to protect participants.

“Our members’ safety and health were our number one priority,” Cherian stated. “After much deliberation and close examination of the pandemic, we decided it was in everyone’s best interest to hold the event virtually. While the virtual event wasn’t what we had initially planned, we were happy to be able to distinguish initiates as official members of Rho Chi and recognize their intellectual achievements this semester.”

Established in 1917, Rho Chi, an international honor society for the pharmaceutical sciences, has recognized scholastic achievement and sought to increase awareness of the ethical and social responsibilities of the profession and to enhance the prestige of the profession.

High-achieving students who are at least halfway through the didactic portion of the Pharm.D. curriculum, have a professional GPA of at least 3.0 and are in the top 20% of their class are eligible for induction into the society.

“Membership into the society is an honor and privilege,” Cherian explained. “These intellectual leaders aspire to live and work to advance pharmacy. We hope to be able to commemorate these students’ achievements in person soon and give them the opportunity to celebrate this significant accomplishment with their loved ones.”

A reception is scheduled on campus later this year that will formally welcome new members into the prestigious organization.

2020 Rho Chi Society Inductees

Anas Abdelghafer
Farah Alhalabi
Zachary Arnold
Madilyn Brand
Lauren Busch
Ethan Cowell
Allision Deckard
Julie Deibel
Courtney Deiters
Sunyoung Go
Abigail Hart
Brett Hastings
Aubree Horn
Kensey Hunt
Sanel Ibrahimovic
Dabin Im
Tessa Johanning
Eric Johnston
Zachary Klingbeil
Veeraya Kullavanijaya
Hansa Mreyoud
Nejla Mustafic
Sara Neale
Thao Nguyen
Yen Nguyen
Kendra Onoh
Taylor Pashia
Izet Porobic
Amy Rotella
Areen Shahab
Hae Shim
Jaime Sibayan
Rachel Silver
Kylie St. John
Madeline Taylor
Cassidy Troup
Kara Wesolowski
Kyle Willey
Samuel Wohlschlaeger
Lauren Wright


Explore more stories in the categories of: Events And Awards , Pharmacy

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.