College Hosts Annual Pharmacy Residency Banquet

Published on 20 June 2016

Residents, preceptors and friends gathered at Third Degree Glass Factory to celebrate the 23rd Annual Pharmacy Residency Banquet on Wednesday, June 15. Forty-two residents from St. Louis area pharmacy residency programs were recognized for the completion of their training.

The pharmacy residents were celebrated for their dedication to patient care and desire to make a difference in the profession of pharmacy. The attendees are currently completing residencies at the following medical institutions: Barnes-Jewish Hospital, Christian Hospital, Missouri Baptist Medical Center, SSM Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center, SSM Health St. Clare Hospital, SSM Health St. Louis University Hospital, SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital, St. Louis Children’s Hospital, St. Luke’s Hospital, Mercy Hospital St. Louis, St. Louis County Department of Public Health, and VA St. Louis Health Care System. PGY1 residencies were also completed at the following community pharmacies: L & S Pharmacy, Schnucks and Walgreens.

The College recognized its own 15 residency graduates during the banquet, Shane Austin ’14, Pharm.D; Stephanie Berrong ’15, Pharm.D.; Michelle Castelli, Pharm.D.; April Huang, Pharm.D.; Christina Inteso, Pharm.D.; Jeffrey Jansen, Pharm.D.; Margaret Ladlie, Pharm.D.; Tara Lindeman, Pharm.D.; Christina Ng., Pharm.D.; Lauren Owens ’15, Pharm.D.; Catherine Saint, Pharm.D.; Megan Snodgrass, Pharm.D.; Courtney Tumbush, Pharm.D.; Sophie Willis, Pharm.D.; and Kimberly Zitko, Pharm.D.

“Our residents have trained at outstanding health care institutions throughout the St. Louis area with mentors dedicated to excellence,” said Jack Burke, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP, BCPS, associate dean of postgraduate education. “The experience and knowledge they have gained as residents will help them improve the care of patients and have a lasting effect on their careers.”

The ceremony also included recognition of this year’s Residency Banquet Awards:

Residency Preceptor of the Year Award

Andrew Crannage ’08, Pharm.D., BCPS
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Mercy Hospital St. Louis

Resident Research Award

Nicholas Britt, Pharm.D.
PGY1 Pharmacy Resident at Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Resident Teaching Awards

Catherine Saint, Pharm.D.
PGY1 Pharmacy Resident, St. Louis College of Pharmacy and Mercy Hospital St. Louis

Kimberly Zitko, Pharm.D.
PGY1 Pharmacy Resident, St. Louis College of Pharmacy and Mercy Hospital St. Louis

James Braun ’14, Pharm.D.
PGY2 Critical Care Resident, SSM St. Louis University Hospital

Lindsay Schmees, Pharm.D.
PGY2 Pediatrics Resident, St. Louis Children’s Hospital

Explore more stories in the categories of: Academics , Alumni , Faculty , Research , Students , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.