Honoring Student Leaders and Organizations

Published on 23 June 2020

Each year, St. Louis College of Pharmacy hosts its Student Leadership Awards Banquet to recognize the many achievements of student leadership. This year, the event was held remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the spirit of the event remained as College leadership took time to honor and celebrate the outstanding student leaders and organizations who exemplify the College’s highest values.

“With the COVID-19 pandemic creating so many disruptions to everyday life, we wanted to find a special way to share the incredible success of our students and our many student organizations with our College community,” stated Beth Casagrand, manager of institutional events at the College. “We are incredibly proud of their efforts, and while we couldn’t hold our typical in-person banquet, we recognized our student leaders’ hard work through a virtual celebration.”

The virtual celebration recognized outstanding students and student organizations via a PowerPoint presentation of award nominees and winners, which was shared on the College’s social media channels. This year, P1 student Jasmine Kolawole received the Undergraduate Student of the Year award, and P4 student Marissa Chow was named Professional Student of the Year.

During her time at the College, Kolawole has become involved with several clubs and organizations on campus, and as a freshman, became the Student Government Association 2024 class president.

“My brother is currently a P3, and when I saw him get his white coat, I couldn’t wait to get to that level, too,” Kolawole explained. “As soon as I got to the College, I wanted to get involved and take on leadership roles. I love the school, and I love pharmacy. Winning this award is overwhelming in a good way because it’s exciting to be recognized for my work.”

Chow also has taken on leadership roles during her time as a student, including serving as the volunteer chair for the American Society of Consulting Pharmacists and serving as director of the St. Louis Area Undergraduate Research Symposium in 2018. Additionally, she has been conducting research with Melanie Van Dyke, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology, since her sophomore year. Chow notes that faculty mentorship and guidance have been crucial as she continues to develop her leadership skills.

“I’ve had many great teachers in the undergraduate and graduate programs who have helped me develop my skills and confidence to become the leader I am today,” Chow explained. “The College has given me opportunities I might not have had at a larger school and has introduced me to the diverse opportunities available in pharmacy, which I look forward to exploring during my rotations.”

Kolawole and Chow were among many outstanding students and organizations that were recognized for 2020.

2019-20 Student Leadership Awards Recipients

Academic Tutors: Brianna Ashby and Kristen Thompson
Orientation Leader: Abigail Hart
Proctor Leader: Subin Im
Resident Assistant: Joshua Anim Anno
Writing Tutor: Kendall Schwentker
Champions for Diversity and Inclusion of the Year: Student National Pharmaceutical Association
New Student Organization of the Year: Pharm.D./ MBA Student Organization
Interest-Based Organization of the Year: Black Student Alliance
Professional Organization of the Year: Kappa Epsilon

Explore more stories in the category of: Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.