Members of the College Community Win Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards

Published on 29 October 2019

Bruce Canaday, Pharm.D., FASHP, FAPhA, dean of the School of Pharmacy, and Curt Gielow, B.S. ’68, MHA, Hon. D.H.L., business consultant at Gielow Ventures LLC, were the recipients of a pair of awards during the 10th annual Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards Gala, sponsored by Pharmacy Times in conjunction with Parata Systems.

During the event, Canaday was presented with the Lifetime Leadership Award in recognition of his many significant career contributions to the pharmacy industry, while Gielow received the Civic Leader Award honoring his activism for patients and the profession of pharmacy. Now in its 10th year, the gala, which was held Oct. 25 in San Diego, recognized outstanding pharmacists from across the nation from a variety of pharmacy practice settings, including large chain retailers, independent pharmacies, specialty pharmacies, military bases, health clinics and educational institutions.

“Winners of the Pharmacy Times Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards represent some of the best in the profession, and we are thrilled that two members of the College community were recognized this year,” said John A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, president of the College. “Our congratulations go out to Dean Canaday and College alumnus Curt Gielow on this outstanding achievement.”

Canaday’s Lifetime Leadership Award comes as he has recently announced his upcoming retirement. Throughout his 45-year career in academic pharmacy, he has displayed a steadfast commitment to enhance patient care through education and policy.

In August 2014, he joined the College as its 15th dean of the School of Pharmacy. Prior to joining the College, he was a professor and chair of the department of pharmacy practice and pharmacy administration at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy of the University of the Sciences. During his career, Canaday was also a clinical professor and vice-chair in the division of pharmacy practice at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and spent 35 years as a clinician, educator, consultant and preceptor for students and residents as the director of the department of pharmacotherapy at the Southeast Area Health Education Center in Wilmington, North Carolina.

Over the years, Canaday was among a select few pharmacy professionals to have served as president and chairman of the board for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and also serve as president of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE).

Canaday’s many career accomplishments include his instrumental role in encouraging the board of pharmacy in North Carolina to expand its regulations and redefine its definition of pharmacy and the role of the pharmacist to include clinicians. Canaday also worked with ASHP and APhA to pass resolutions encouraging doctors to include indications on their prescriptions with the goal of helping pharmacists prevent medication errors and improve medication use among their patients.

In addition, as the president of ACPE, Canaday helped lead recent efforts to certify international teaching programs via ACPE’s International Services Program. During his time with ACPE, Canaday also worked alongside fellow ACPE members and members of ASHP to establish accreditation requirements for pharmacy technicians. Most recently, Canaday was part of the team that drafted the most updated set of standards for pharmacy schools and made the Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment a requirement for all pharmacy students nearing the end of their didactic curriculum.

Gielow was presented with the Civic Leader Award in recognition of his tireless legislative efforts aimed at supporting the pharmacy profession. Serving as a representative of the Wisconsin State Legislature from 2002-2007, Gielow played a key role in passing legislation allowing prescription labels to include both the brand name and the generic equivalent.

He also rallied for independent community pharmacists through the creation of a health insurance cooperative for small business and sole proprietors which gave businesses with fewer than 25 employees the ability to aggregate in groups to purchase insurance through a co-op that allowed them to take advantage of lower health care costs and access to prescription drug coverage.

During his time as a state representative, Gielow also authored a Wisconsin statute limiting jury awards in malpractice suits to $750,000, with the goal of helping to keep malpractice insurance rates affordable for health care providers in the state.

After retiring from the Wisconsin State Legislature in 2007, Gielow worked to help address the shortage of pharmacists in the state through his work to establish the School of Pharmacy at Concordia University Wisconsin, which now offers an award-winning Pharm.D. program and a variety of residency opportunities designed to prepare students for careers in the pharmacy profession.

To learn more about the Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards, or to view the full list of 2019 award winners, visit

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Faculty , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.