Crannage and Gattas Receive Recognition at 2018 MPA Excellence Awards

Published on 06 November 2018

St. Louis College of Pharmacy faculty members Erica Crannage, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP, associate professor of pharmacy practice, and Nicole Gattas, Pharm.D., FAPhA, BCPS, associate professor of pharmacy practice and assistant director of community and ambulatory care for experiential education, were the recipients of a pair of honors during the recent Missouri Pharmacy Association (MPA) Excellence Awards. At the ceremony, Crannage was named the 2018 St. Louis College of Pharmacy Faculty Member of the Year, while Gattas was recognized with the 2018 Generation Rx Champion Award.

Crannage received the Faculty Member of the Year Award in recognition of her many contributions to the practice of pharmacy.

“I approach teaching in the classroom and at my practice site as a partnership between myself and my students,” explained Crannage. “I feel honored and excited to be recognized for the continued effort that I have made to ensure a challenging, but caring learning environment for our students.”

In addition to her work as a faculty member at the College, Crannage serves as a clinical pharmacist at the Saint Louis University Department of Family and Community Medicine - SLUCare Family Medicine Clinics in St. Louis.
Her areas of interest and clinical services include anticoagulation, prevention and treatment of diabetes, and interprofessional education and practice.

The 2018 Generation Rx Champion Award was presented to Gattas for demonstrating excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention.

“I know previous recipients of this award that are doing amazing work, and I am honored to be included among them,” stated Gattas. “My desire to make a difference arose from personal experience after my cousin took mislabeled medication and died tragically from an overdose. Since then, I’ve looked for ways to affect appropriate medication disposal and impact overdose education and prevention.”

Gattas has worked on several community grants to educate the public and health care providers on appropriate medication disposal and the use of naloxone in overdose prevention including the Missouri Opioid State Targeted Response (STR) grant, a statewide effort by the Missouri Department of Mental Health to increase naloxone education and availability.

The MPA Excellence Awards are presented each year to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding efforts in the pharmacy profession across eight categories including Pharmacist Making a Difference, Technician of the Year, Distinguished Young Pharmacist, Excellence in Innovation, St. Louis College of Pharmacy Faculty Member of the Year, University of Missouri-Kansas City Faculty Member of the Year, Cardinal Health Generation Rx Award of Excellence, and the prestigious Bowl of Hygeia Award.

Explore more stories in the categories of: Events And Awards , Faculty , Pharmacy

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.