Faculty and Staff Recognized at Annual Luncheon

Published on 13 June 2018

For more than 25 years, the Annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon has been held to acknowledge the outstanding work of College faculty and staff throughout the academic year. This year’s event, held May 15, drew more than 200 individuals to celebrate the 2018 honorees.

The luncheon kicked off with remarks from John A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, president of the College. Following lunch, service awards were presented to 37 employees celebrating five, 10 and 15 years of service.

Special recognition was given to faculty and staff members celebrating major service milestones:

  • Connie Horrall, admissions processing coordinator, 20 years of service
  • John Sides, computer and A/V support technician, 20 years of service
  • Jill Nissen, director of the library and assistant professor for information science, 25 years of service
  • Karen Fife, administrator of accounts payable, 30 years of service
  • Neil Schmidt, M.A., R.Ph., FASHP, adjunct clinical instructor of pharmacy practice, 30 years of service
  • Richard Travous, maintenance mechanic, 30 years of service

A highlight of the event was the presentation of the annual Staff Excellence and Faculty Excellence Awards. This year, 16 staff members and 11 faculty members were nominated for awards based on their outstanding job performance, impact on the campus community and their commitment to demonstrating the College’s mission, vision and values.

Erica Crannage, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP, associate professor of pharmacy practice, was presented with the 2018 Faculty Excellence Award. She was selected by the past five faculty recipients of the award, as well as student representatives who made a recommendation to the president.

Crannage was recognized for her ongoing efforts to challenge students to grow and help them thrive as self-learners, and her ability to make a personal connection with patients, students and colleagues.

“I was very surprised and excited to hear that I was selected as the Faculty Excellence Award winner,” Crannage said. “It is an honor to receive the award, and I’m very grateful to have been nominated.”

Lori Watson, executive assistant to the dean of arts and sciences and paralegal for the College, received the Staff Excellence Award. 

She was selected from the nominees by members of the President’s Staff for her positivity, strength, perseverance, outstanding work ethic, respect for diversity and professionalism in her work at the College. Those nominating her also cited her many efforts to provide an enriching environment for growth, learning and leadership.

“I feel incredibly honored to have received the award,” Watson said. “The College has a vast amount of excellence in both the staff and faculty. As I stood with the other nominees and saw many of my mentors stand as past recipients, I was overwhelmed with gratitude. The College community provided an environment for me to excel and thrive, even through my battle with cancer this past year. Only with the support of the College and the teamwork of my colleagues was I able to stand among this amazing group of honorees. I am thrilled to represent the College in this way.”

Explore more stories in the categories of: Faculty , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.