Scholarship Awards Dinner Recognizes Students' Achievements

Published on 13 October 2017

The College welcomed alumni and donors into the new Recreation and Student Center for the annual Scholarship Awards Dinner on Thursday, Oct. 5. During the event, more than 232 scholarships totaling $478,510 were awarded to 202 students.

The event gave students the chance to mingle with alumni and personally thank donors for their generous contributions. P3 student Amy Wong was among those selected to speak on behalf of this year’s scholarship recipients. She highlighted the importance of student scholarships to those pursuing careers in pharmacy.

“At every stage of our pharmacy careers we encounter individuals who shape the core of who we are as people, and as professionals,” she said. “Generosity keeps this profession moving forward, and continues to impact our patients, our peers, our friends, our families and our communities.”

This year, 31 faculty and staff members contributed $25,000 to the Faculty and Staff Scholarship, making it the largest award of the night. P4 student Jessica Vorwaldt was the proud recipient of the award.

“I feel touched and privileged to receive such support in my future endeavors as a pharmacist,” Vorwaldt said. “It is the support from each of you who contribute directly to the success of the students at St. Louis College of Pharmacy. I am honored to be a student from a college which implements and dedicates so much effort to enhancing student education.”

President John A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, delivered remarks during the event, with Bruce Canaday, Pharm.D., dean of pharmacy, presenting opening and closing remarks.

Explore more stories in the categories of: Alumni , Events

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to UHSP.